star school an intro to astrology for total beginnersIn a previous lesson, we looked at the astrological houses. To recap: an astrology chart is divided into twelve sections, kinda like a pie (True story: when I was a kid, I used to buy Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and cut them up like little pies, and eat ‘em one slice at a time. As an adult, I hate pie and never eat it. I still like those peanut butter cups though.).

We can also group those slices into different sections of the chart, called “hemispheres.”  If your chart has an emphasis on planets in one part, pay attention (for the record, I have an even balance between each hemisphere – like a perfectly portioned out Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup!).

Each hemisphere has six houses occupying it. For some reason that I cannot fathom, the whole hemisphere layout is backwards AF. The top half is Southern, the bottom Northern, and the left + right are Eastern and Western. This directionally-challenged stuff makes no sense to me but hey, I didn’t invent it so I have to accept it. Anyhoo….let’s move on.

Here are the four hemispheres:

The Southern Hemisphere – this is the top half of the chart, comprised of Houses 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. Many planets here indicate a social nature – one who enjoys being in the outer world or in the public eye. This might be an extrovert!

Star School - Lesson 13: The Hemispheres. Southern Hemisphere.

The Northern Hemisphere – this is the bottom half of the chart, comprised of Houses 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. Tons of planets here indicate a private nature and more focused on their inner world. A person with a bottom-heavy chart might be more introverted. Keep in mind that these types can be just as driven and social as the charts with busy Southern hemispheres but they always need to retreat to their “home base.”

Star School - Lesson 13: The Hemispheres. Northern Hemisphere.

The Eastern Hemisphere – this is the left half of the chart, comprised of houses 10, 11, 12, 1, 2, 3. People with a lot of planets here tend to be highly motivated. They like to take initiative and go after what they want. These are strong willed individuals and total go-getters.

Star School - Lesson 13: The Hemispheres. Eastern Hemisphere.

The Western Hemisphere – this is the right half of the chart, comprised of houses 5, 6, 7 8, 9, 10. People with an emphasis here need to have some sort of nudge to take action. In other words, they kinda sit around and wait for things to come to them before they get movin’.

Star School - Lesson 13: The Hemispheres. Western Hemisphere.

If a chart is evenly balanced like mine (see below), it can symbolize someone who can move between being introverted, extroverted, and a go-getter but also able to wait for opportunity.  Formidable!  Ha ha!

equally balanced hemispheres

Take a gander at our friend, Kim Kardashian’s chart and see what’s going on with her Hemispheres:

What might you learn about her? Interesting, right?

Homework! Grab your chart, a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, and check out which hemispheres are heavy…or not. Grab a few more charts – friends, families, celebrities – and study ’em too. Do you see any truth in this or not?

Next month, I’ll be tackling dignities. This is so rad – you’re going to see which signs makes the planets happy…or not.

But until then…

Keep gazing at the stars – and stay curious,


Miss a previous lesson? I’ve got ’em all right here for you.

Sign up for my newsletter and get free bi-monthly content on tarot, astrology, and more.

I respect your email privacy

Pin It on Pinterest